Reuse of Instagram media
Copy link
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Instagram Lite App Help
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
More
The reuse of media setting on Instagram controls who can reuse your content, including using your content to create with AI features at Meta. To see the updated settings language, update your Instagram app. If you don't update your app, your setting selection will still apply to reusing your content, including creating with AI features at Meta.
If you have a public account, other Instagram users may be able to create new reels, posts or stories that reuse part or all of your published photos, videos or reels in features like remix, sequence, templates and stickers. In addition, people may be able to create content with your Instagram content using AI features at Meta. Depending on the settings of the other user, this means your reused content may be discoverable in search engine results.
Learn more about how to remove Instagram public photos and videos from search engines.
Your privacy settings determine default remix and reuse settings
The default reuse settings of your reels, feed videos and photos depends on your account’s privacy settings.
- If your account is set to private: No one can reuse any part of your reels, feed videos, and photos.
- If your account is public: Anyone on Instagram can reuse all or part of your reels, feed videos, and photos shared after reuse became available. Reels, feed videos, and photos can be reused in features like remix, sequence, templates and stickers. In addition, people may be able to create content with your Instagram content using AI features at Meta. Note: These features are not available everywhere at this time.
- If you’re under 18 with a public account: Only people you follow can reuse your media if your settings allow for reuse.
- If you switch from public to private account: All reels, posts or stories using your content will be deleted from Instagram if you set your account to private for longer than 24 hours. Content created by others using AI features at Meta will not be deleted.
You can control who reuses or remixes your media
At any time, you can turn off or allow reuse for reels, feed videos, and photos across your entire account. You can also turn off reuse of individual reels, videos and photos from each post. If you turn off reuse, then reels, posts or stories using all or part of your reels, feed videos, and photos created before you changed your settings will stay on Instagram unless you delete your original content. Content created by others using AI features at Meta will not be deleted.
Note: You can’t turn off reuse of your original audio, text, or comments.
When your content is reused
When you delete content
Two ways to adjust reuse settings
Manage who can reuse your media on Instagram
If you turn off reuse, then reels, posts or stories using all or part of your reels, feed videos, and photos created before you changed your settings will stay on Instagram unless you delete your original content. This will not delete content created using AI features at Meta.
Change your settings at the account level
Instagram users under 18 with public accounts have more options for controlling reuse
Control reuse for individual photos, videos or reels
Enable templates for videos made on Edits